Campus Life

UWF Student Body President elected chair of Florida Student Association

The Florida Student Association elected University of West Florida Student Body President Zenani D. Johnson to serve as chair for the 2019-20 academic year.

UWF President Martha D. Saunders and UWF Student Body President Zenani D. Johnson

The FSA is an organization representing more than 300,000 students in the State University System. As chair, Johnson will serve as the student representative and a voting member of the Florida State University System’s Board of Governors.

“I am extremely grateful to my team and for the trust that the Florida Student Association has placed in me, by electing me to serve as chair,” Johnson said. “Having the ability to serve as the student representative on the Florida Board of Governors is an incredible honor. We have a lot of great ideas and a rigorous agenda for the year and our team is eager to get started.”

FSA is composed of 12 student body presidents from Florida’s state universities and their respective staffs. With a commitment to quality education, the mission of the Florida Student Association is to advocate the interests of the state university students at all levels of government. Johnson is the third UWF student body president elected to serve as FSA chair in the last four academic years. Jacob Hebert (2016-17) and Kishane Patel (2017-18) preceded Johnson as FSA chair.

“Zenani is an exceptional choice to serve as chair of the Florida Student Association,” said UWF President Martha D. Saunders. “She is hard-working, determined and represents all of the best we have to offer. We are eager to see how she makes an impact in this role.”

Johnson, a junior majoring in psychology and a student entrepreneur in UWF’s Center for Entrepreneurship, is the first female African-American student body president elected at UWF. Johnson founded the Emergency Housing Assistance program that assists students who face homelessness, impending risk of homelessness, fleeing emergency situations or financial need of housing assistance.

John Aloszka, University of North Florida, was elected as internal vice chair and Rochard Moricette, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, was elected as external vice chair.

For more information about the University of West Florida Student Government Association, visit