Black History celebration events to be held at UWF

University of West Florida | news@uwf.edu

The University of West Florida African-American Student Association (AASA) is hosting events throughout February to celebrate Black History Month and educate the campus community about its significance.

The month-long celebration will kick off with a Collegiate 100 Poetry Night on Wednesday, Feb. 6 at 7 p.m. in the University Commons Great Hall. Other featured events will include:

  • Tour of Historic Pensacola: Saturday, Feb. 9 at 10 a.m. in downtown Pensacola
  • Celebrating Black History: Friday, Feb. 15 at 7 p.m. in the University Commons Conference Center
  • Movie Night: Saturday, Feb. 16 and Sunday, Feb. 17 at 6 p.m. in Presidents Hall
  • Black History Month Concert: Monday, Feb. 18 at 7 p.m. in the Center for Fine and Performing Arts Music Hall
  • Guest Speaker: Mr. Kaal “KAYO” Charles presents “Growing up Daddy”: Tuesday, Feb. 19 at 6 p.m. in the Commons Auditorium
  • Black History Month Vigil: Wednesday, Feb. 20 at 7 p.m. at the UWF Free Speak Zone
  • Black History Month Brain Brawl: Friday, Feb. 22 at 7 p.m. in the Argo Galley
  • Family Picnic: Saturday, Feb. 23 at 11 a.m. on the Cannon Greens
  • Black History Month Expo: Thursday, Feb. 28 at 6 p.m. in the Commons Conference Center

For additional information about the Black History Month Celebration, visit the AASA Facebook at facebook.com/uwfaasa.

Share this post

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed
  • Share this post on Delicious
  • StumbleUpon this post
  • Share this post on Digg
  • Tweet about this post
  • Share this post on Mixx
  • Share this post on Technorati
  • Share this post on Facebook
  • Share this post on NewsVine
  • Share this post on Reddit
  • Share this post on Google
  • Share this post on LinkedIn

About the author

University of West Florida has written 719 articles for UWF Newsroom

There are no responses so far.

New comments are closed.